More information on the
|The Suffolk Regiment Museum, The Keep, Gibraltar Barracks, Newmarket Road, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk. IP33 3RN |
Although part of the Suffolk Regiment collection is now housed in a specially prepared gallery at Moyses Hall, a large part of the remainder is still housed at the Gibraltar Barracks.
The Suffolk Regiment Museum was established, in the Officers Mess, for the 250th Anniversary of the Regiment in 1935. The first acquisitions were items which belonged to even older collections of badges, medals and uniform items which had been displayed in the Mess since before The Great War.
Throughout the 1940s and 1950s the Museum was a working museum in which Suffolk Regiment recruits would go to learn the history of their Regiment. In 1968 the Museum moved to its current location in The Keep. Since that time the collection had grown in a delightfully disorganised way until, in the summer of 2004, the whole display was dismantled, cleaned and redisplayed.
|Clare Ancient House Museum, High Street, Clare, Suffolk.|
At the heart of the historic and picturesque town of Clare the Ancient House stands sentinel next to the church. Dating back to the 15th century this unusual Grade I listed building boasts spectacular moulded plaster and timber work and intriguingly low ceilings. It is thought to have started life as a mediaeval open hall house and was at various times the town bakery and the home of the Parish Council's sexton.
The Museum which occupies part of the house provides a History of Clare with graphic displays and exhibits featuring education, transport, brewing, leather, finance and clothing. Computerised records of 1809 and 1851 census returns are also available together with historic photographs of the town including cutting the first sod of the railway in 1863, the opening of the Town hall in 1913 and the unveiling of the War Memorial in 1923.
Entry includes a quiz leaflet on the Museum and the Town Trail which can be followed starting from a map in the Country Park via a series of information boards located in various parts of the Town.Website: www.clare-ancient-house-museum.co.uk
|Haverhill Local History Centre, Haverhill Arts Centre, High Street, Haverhill, Suffolk CB9 8AR|
The Centre houses special exhibitions and is also used as a study centre by the Haverhill & District Local History Group. Material ranges from 3000 old photographs of the town to most of the back numbers of the Haverhill Echo.
email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Tel: 01440 714962
|The Centre for Computing History, Once located at The Counting House. High Street
Haverhill. Suffolk. CB9 8NT|
PLEASE NOTE that this museum moved to Cambridge in May, 2013.
The collection of the Centre for Computing History has many links with the National Curriculum, particularly in IT and History. Established to create a permanent public exhibition that tells the story of the Information Age, the computer museum preserves and presents a collection of important computers and related artifacts. It spotlights the people behind the inventions and records the information necessary to inspire and enthuse future generations.
In 2011 it is believed that the Centre for Computing History is the only museum dedicated to computers and their social impact in the United Kingdom.
The museum is now here :
The Centre for Computing History
Telephone : 01223 214446
Email address: email@example.com
|Mildenhall Museum, King Street, Mildenhall, Suffolk IP28 7EX
From the outside Mildenhall Museum may just seem a little austere and foreboding but it hides a wealth of antiquities and other riches from Mildenhall and surrounding areas, not least of which is a display highlighting the discovery of the Mildenhall Treasure.
Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Tel: 01638 716970
|Brandon Heritage Centre, George Street, Brandon, Suffolk, IP27 0BX|
Brandon Heritage Centre tells the fascinating story of Brandon’s history from Neolithic times to the present day.
Open at weekends and Bank Holidays from Easter - October.
Email address: email@example.com
|The Charles Burrell Museum, Minstergate, Thetford, Norfolk IP24 1BN |
The Charles Burrell Museum is situated just round the corner from the Ancient House Museum close to the centre of Thetford. Burrells were famous for making showmens' traction engines, as well as steam lorries and other engines. There are three areas of display within the museum, the gallery, the workshop and the main floor that tell the story of Charles Burrell and Son. The gallery has a history of the Burrell family and the Burrell’s works. The workshops show the types of machine tools used and the various processes involved in making an engine. The main floor has a display of Burrell engines.
Phone: +44 (0)1842 765840
|Ancient House Museum of Thetford Life, 21-23 White Hart Street, Thetford, Norfolk, IP24 1AA|
Set in a beautiful Tudor house, this museum tells the remarkable story of Thetford and the Brecks. Discover rich collections alongside audio guides, films and animations.
Open all year March 31 -Sep 1 Tues-Sat 10am-5pm
Tel: 01842 752599
Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org IP24 1AA
|The Dad’s Army Museum, Cage Lane,Thetford, Norfolk, |
Learn about TV’s Dad’s Army which was filmed in Thetford and the town’s own Home Guard. Visit as part of Guided Walk.
Open every Saturday 10am - 2pm throughout the season, Tuesdays during July and August. Other times & group visits by appointment.
Email address: email@example.com
|Bury St Edmunds Art Gallery, Smiths Row, The Market Cross, Cornhill,
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP33 1BT.|
Housed in Robert Adam's only public building in East Anglia, the art gallery, now known as Smith's Row, is one of the most exciting galleries in the region.
Tel: +44 (0)1284 762081
Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
|Go to Museums homepage||Produced 1st June 2011||Go to Main Home Page|